MUSA BILITY WINS LP’S CHAIRMANSHIP -Convention Ends Today with Induction of new Leadership -As Outgoing Chairman Zargo Congratulates Bility

The final outcome of the January 23-24, 2021 Special National Convention has produced a new corps of officers for the Liberty Party, who will steer the affairs of the party for the next few years. Surprisingly, 14 contenders who participated in the 16-slot election all won on white ballots.

The Gbarnga Special National Convention commenced Saturday against the backdrop of the Liberty Party’s April 23-24, 2018 Council Sitting in Voinjama, Lofa County where a decision was reached to review the party’s constitution and hold elections for a new corps of officials.

Following the revision and adoption of the Constitution at the start of the Convention today, elections were immediately held, thus producing a new corps of officials, including businessman Musa Hassan Bility, outgoing Chairman of the Liberty Party Advisory Council, who won unopposed as the new National Chairman of the Liberty Party.

Mr. Bility’s white ballot win followed the withdrawal of Lofa County Senator Steve Zargo who made his position known yesterday Friday that he would not be contesting the position.

But quite surprisingly, outgoing LP Chairman, in a very conciliatory tone, has now congratulated the new Chairman-elect of the Liberty Party, offering to provide assistance to Mr. Bility and the Liberty whenever the need arises.

“I am informed that Mr. Musa Hassan Bility has won the Chairmanship of Liberty Party. I placed a call to him congratulating him. For and on behalf of my family and the people of Lofa, I say congratulations to Mr. MHB! I am and will always be available to provide any assistance LP and or the Chairman elect may need! Again congratulations!” Senator Zarbo enthused.

Meanwhile, LP stalwart Rugie Barry also won the Vice Chair for Administration position unopposed, making her the next ranking official to the National Chairman.

Sealing the Vice Chairmanship for Political and Legislative Affairs position, Montserrado County Senator Abraham Darius Dillon also won unopposed.

The most controversial win so far was that of party stalwart Martin Kollah, who also won on white ballot after the LP Deputy Secretary General for Press and Public Affairs, Atty. Kla Toomey angrily boycotted the Convention, terming it as “stage managed”. Atty. Toomey also accused National Chairman-elect Musa Bility of “inducing” the process, an act that Toomey alleged was condoned by Political Leader Senator Nyonblee Karnga-Lawrence.

Others who also won on ballot included J. Elder Jallah as Vice Chair for Operation; E. Augustine Frederick, Vice Chair for Inter Party Affairs; James Yougie, Vice Chair for Policy, Planning & Program; Cllr. Koko Y. Dorbor, Vice Chair for Gender & Social Policy; and Cllr. Powo Hilton, Vice Chair for Legal Affairs.

Other white ballot winners included Phillip Suah, Vice Chair for International & Diaspora Affairs; Normanlyne Bendu Barclay, Vice Chair for Membership; Agatius B. Coker, Vice Chair for Auxiliary Service; Dr. Marcus Speare, Vice Chair for Health, Education, Policy & Program; and Wadei H. Powell, Treasurer.

Among the two positions which saw more than one candidate contesting, Mr. Daniel O. Sando won the Vice Chair Press & Public Affairs post, edging out Emanuel T. Azango with 40 to 24 votes.

The Vice Chair for Mobilization position was won by Prince Toles who overwhelmingly defeated his contender Cephus Flazamaton with 51 to 14 votes. One invalid vote was cast in this category.

Out of the 73 delegates that attended the Convention, 65 delegates voted, while eight abstained. Astonishingly, one delegate was disqualified.

Following the massive white ballot and two contested wins, LP partisans were seen jubilating and congratulating all of the winners in the halls of the Methodist Compound.

The induction of officers-elect of the Liberty Party takes place today Sunday at the Gbarnga Administrative Building. The induction ceremony will be graced by several dignitaries from the opposition bloc including the four political leaders from the Collaborating Political Parties (CPP).

Comments are closed.