LPP Elects Yanqui Zaza Chairman -Cllr. Jallah, Others Out as New Leadership Takes Over

The opposition Liberian People’s Party (LPP) has elected Mr. J. Yanqui Zaza as National Chairman, replacing Counselor Joseph Kolako Kpator Jallah who steered the party in 17 years.

The decision was taken during the party’s 5th extraordinary national congress held at the weekend in Montserrado County. It was attended by over 117 accredited delegates from the 15 counties in Liberia and that of the United States and Europe respectively.

Those elected were J. Yanqui Zaza, National Chairman; George B. Caine as National Vice Chairman for Administration; Stephen Ricks as National Vice Chairman for Operations; and Major Tamba Samukai as National Vice Chairman for Recruitment and Mobilization.

Others are Leon Talery as National General Secretary; Amos Bartu, Jr., as National Assistant Secretary General for Political Affairs; Aaron Nelson as National Assistant Secretary General for Press and Propaganda; and Lucia Massalee-Yallah as National Treasurer.

Those being replaced were Counselor Joseph Kolako Kpator, National Chairman; Counselor Joseph Nagbe, National Vice Chairman for Administration who resigned from the party upon nomination to serve as Associate Justice on the Supreme Court of Liberia; and Harry Mongbeh, National Vice Chairman for Operations (retired).

Others were Theodosia Clarke-Wah (deceased), National Vice Chairperson for Women Affairs; Jefferson Karmoh, National Secretary General who now serves as National Security Advisor at the Presidency; Morris Kollie, National Assistant Secretary General employed at the Foreign Ministry; Mougmoumtorh Sackor, National Assistant Secretary General for Press and Propaganda; and Gmasonoh Monger-Morris (deceased), National Treasurer.

LPP extraordinary national congress was chaired by one of the party’s ideologues, Dr. Yarsuo Weh-Dorliae, former Commissioner of the Governance Commission during the tenure of President Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf, who immediately swore in the new team.

The process was keenly observed by the National Elections Commission, represented by Abraham Kanneh, and other dignitaries from the civil society organizations as well as some foreign mission.

Held under the theme: “For God and My Country,” the national congress memorialized the party’s first founding Chairman, the late Amos Claudius Sawyer who was deceased on Wednesday, 16 February, this year.

The third post-war elective national congress of LPP is a constitutional fulfillment achieved with the election of a new leadership steering the affairs of the party replacing Counselor Joseph Kolako Kpator Jallah, an Independent Candidate contesting in the pending senatorial by-election in Lofa County.

Though the outgoing chairman endorsed by the governing Coalition for Democratic Change recently was not present at the congress as he is on pre-campaigning in Lofa County, he, however, officially blessed the process publicly when he appeared on Wednesday, 27 April on the Okay FM station talk show in Monrovia, stating that because of his engagement he has to leave for others to continue.

Earlier, delegates of the congress and other dignitaries paid tribute with a standing ovation to those progressives who contributed immensely to Liberia’s multiparty democratic system which Liberians are enjoying today.

Those honored included Togba-Nah Tipoteh, Henry Boima Fahnbulleh, Dew Tuan-Wleh Mayson, Nyan K. Taryor, Lucia Massalee-Yallah, Joseph Saye Guannu, and Amos Claudius Sawyer.

Others were Gabriel Baccus Matthews, Albert Porte, Edward Beyan Kesselly, Jackson Fiah Doe, Emma Shannon Walser, D. K. Wonsehleay; Oscar Jaryee Quiah, Marcus S. G. Dahn, Mary Antoinette Brown-Sherman, among others.

The LPP was founded Monday, 13 August, 1984 following a decision taken during the second National Congress of the Movement for Justice Africa (MOJA) held in March, 1980.

The late Amos Claudius Sawyer and John Karnweaye were the first founding Chairman and secretary general of the party respectively.

Meanwhile, the party’s national primaries to elect would-be legislative aspirants ahead of 2023 general polls will be held at the close of this year.

Meanwhile, some partisans have reportedly expressed their desire to seek the LPP’s endorsement through primaries for the party’s presidential ticket.

The LPP United States based-branch member, George Gonpu; Europe and United Kingdom-based member, Henry Boima Fahnbulleh, Jr., and Liberia based member, Tiawan Saye Gongloe are some of the names cropping up to contest the LPP standard bearer position.

Comments are closed.