UP Reinstates Suspended Senators

After weeks of consultations and discussions, the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the former governing Unity Party has reinstated seven of the eight senators suspended by the party on April 2, 2019. The UP legislators were reinstated to the party after an overwhelming vote in their favor at a well-attended meeting held at the UP’s National Headquarters in Congo Town.

The Unity Party National Executive Committee members suspended the senators due to their role in the impeachment of Associated Justice Justice Kabineh Ja’neh.

The reinstated senators include Cllr. Varney H. Sherman and Sen. Edward B. Dagoseh (DECEASED) of Cape Mount County, Sen. Morris Saytumah of Bomi County and Sen. George Tengbeh of Lofa County. Other reinstated are Sen. Alphonso Gaye of Grand Gedeh, Sen. Matthew Jaye of Rivergee and Sen. Milton Teahjay of Sinoe.

The UP’s NEC looks forward to cooperation with the senators and all other members of the Party’s Legislative Caucus at this critical period of Liberia’s deteriorating governance situation.

The party also calls on the senators to distinguish themselves as required and as being demanded by the vast majority of Liberians. “The Unity Party would like to remind members of its Legislative Caucus that they were elected to serve the Liberian people and not the presidency or any single individual,” a press release signed by the National Assistant Secretary General  for Press, Publicity and Outreach Mohammed Ali said.

Meanwhile, the Unity Party release indicated that UP extends its heartfelt condolences to the people of Grand Cape Mount County, the Liberian Senate and the country at large for the passing of Senator Edward B. Dagoseh.

Comments are closed.