PUL Announces “Press Freedom Day” Activities -Names Members for Preparatory & Vetting Committees

The Press Union of Liberia has named preparatory committee for the celebration of this year’s World Press Freedom Day which is expected to be held in Rivercess County.  The celebration is in conformity with the United Nations General Assembly’s declaration that May 3 of each year should be celebrated as “World Press Freedom Day” to raise awareness of the importance of freedom of the press.

The day is to remind governments of their duty to respect and uphold the rights to freedom of expression as enshrined under Article 19 of the 1948 Universal Declaration of Human Rights. The World Press Freedom Day marks the anniversary of the Windhoek Declaration.

In Liberia, the Press has remained strong in implementing the Windhoek Free Press standard innovated together by African newspaper journalists in 1999, the basis for the UN Declaration.

Journalists will in the lead up to the World Press Freedom Day increase their attention on the great people of Rivercess, their leaders and Non- governmental Organizations on problems confronting the region.

Rivercess is a central coastal region, revered for its clean beaches, low skill fishing and rich Bassa Traditions rooted in music. The region has challenges with education and healthcare as being experienced in most parts of Liberia.

Those appointed to the 2019 World Press Freedom Day (WPFD) Preparatory Committee  include, Preparatory Committee :Success Minor—chairman; Janjay Cambel—co-chair; Lucia Dohr  member; MICAT  member; JuluJohnson  sports  affairs; Roland Mulbah  sports affairs; Samuel Hasay sports affairs.

Others appointed on the Preparatory Committee are, RhodonxonFayia member; Edwin Genoway member; Trokon Tarr advisor; Malcolm Joseph advisor; Trokon Freeman member; Eric Opa Dua member and PUL President and Secretary General Ex-officio.

The PUL has also constituted its 2019 Awards Committee. Those named as members are, Horatio Bobby Willie, chairman; Tete Kanneh–co-chairman; George D. Kennedy – Secretary Elizabeth Hoff advisor;

Jarlawah A Tonpon advisor; Weemon Jalacole Boyce member; Siebo D. Williams member and

Wiah Karpeh member.

PUL President Charles Coffey has expressed confidence in officials and members of committees, urging them to ensure the full execution of their responsibilities.

Meanwhile, the operating framework or guard lines for the 2019 Awards Event will be developed with technical assistance from Internews, the manager of the Liberia Media Development being funded by USAID to help efficiently cover the community radio sector.

Comments are closed.