President Weah Nominates Davidetta Browne-Lansanah as Chairman of NEC


The Liberian leader, President George Weah, yesterday, nominated the Acting Chairperson of the National Elections Commissioner (NEC) as Chairperson today, to lead the Electoral Body for the next seven years.

On April 3, 2020, President Weah nominated. Davidetta Browne Lansanah as Co-Chairperson of the NEC along with four other Commissioners. The Liberian Senate confirmed her on April 10, 2020. She has since been acting as Chairperson following the withdrawal of the nomination of the Chairman-designate, Cllr. Nbudisi Nwabudiki.

Mrs. Lansanah hails from Maryland County. She holds double Baccalaureate Degrees in Public
Administration and Political Science respectively, from the University of Liberia, and a Masters of Public Administration Degree in Public Sector Management from the Cuttington University Graduate School.

She is a veteran Broadcast Journalist who worked many years in the field at the Liberia
Broadcasting System (LBS), Star Radio, and the Talking Drum Studio (Search for Common

The NEC Chairperson designate also worked for a decade as a National Professional within the UN System as Communications Officer with UNOMIL and UNDHA/UNHACO, and as Associate Gender Officer, in the Office of the Gender Adviser (OGA) with the United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL).

According to the Executive Mansion Website, the Liberian leader has also nominated Cllr. Teplah Reeves Co-Chairperson of the Commission. Both nominations are subject to confirmation by the Liberia Senate.

The nomination of Lansanah and Reeves brings the number female Commissioners on the currently Board of Commissioners to four. The others are Commissioners Ernestine Morgan-Awar and Josephine Kou Gaye. Commissioners Boakai Dukuly, Floyd Sayor, and Barsee Kpangbai complete the seven-member Board Commission. Only Commissioners Lansanah and Dukuly were members of the previous Board headed by Cllr. Jerome Korkoya.

Comments are closed.